History and Role of Founders

AEEE was incorporated, courtesy the vision and financial support provided by four proactive energy efficiency equipment and services companies, Conzerv Systems Pvt Ltd (CSPL – since acquired by Schneider-Electric India in 2009), Schneider-Electric India Pvt. Ltd., Thermax Limited and Grundfos Pumps India Pvt Ltd. SKF India Limited, who joined in 2010 as a corporate company.

USAID/ECO-III project partners, International Resources Group and Alliance to Save Energy provided strategic guidance and support to develop and implement AEEE’s Vision and Mission, and to launch the initial set of activities and programmes. AEEE’s formation and its set of activities were supported by a number of energy efficiency equipment manufacturers and services providers with a focus on business enablement.  Over the years, major foundations, bilateral and multilateral agencies have helped AEEE to undertake projects and grow the organisation to do more effective energy efficiency policy advocacy and business enablement through knowledge products and creation of more effective and credible platform.

From these companies and organisations, the following MD, CEOs and Group or Division Heads played a key role in giving AEEE the present character, resources and strength.

AEEE Founder Chairperson, Ms. Hema Hattangady, then MD of Conzerv Systems Pvt Ltd., who readily financed and seconded the AEEE team from her company, to incorporate and build up the Society in its first two years and visualised the way forward. Mr. Ashok Hattangady, Director-Technical at Conzerv Systems Pvt Ltd., had developed and designed AEEE logo, which has since been widely accepted and appreciated as AEEE’s Trade Mark.

Mr. Shishir Joshipura, then Executive Vice President, Thermax Ltd. and currently MD of SKF India Limited, who provided the vast experience of Thermax as global player in energy and environment services and technology industry for AEEE.

Mr. Ranganath N. Krishna, MD of Grundfos Pumps India Pvt. Ltd., our second Chairperson, who significantly contributed to build up the credibility and partnerships for AEEE among the national chambers, and continues to guide the Executive Council, towards more sustainable direction.

Mr. S. Padmanaban, Director-SARI/E Project, USAID-India, and the inspiration for creating AEEE as the voice of the energy efficiency community in India.

Dr. Satish Kumar, then Chief of Party of USAID ECO-III Project and our third Chairperson when he was the Energy Efficiency Ambassador at Schneider Electric India, was the convener and one of the founders who supported AEEE in a number of its outreach activities, and in developing long-standing global alliances and the training mandate.

Dr. G. C. Datta Roy, then CEO of DSCL (DCM Sriram Consolidated Ltd.), and thereafter Development Enviro-energy Services Ltd. (DESL), who proved the ESCO and energy services sector prospective for AEEE.

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Our Newsletter